Jenna Silverman shares Internship Experience

Like most hopeful journalism students here at IU, our main goal is to get an internship with a “topnotch” publication. Most of us dream, hope and wish for the opportunity to intern at a well-known magazine, and I was lucky enough to have that experience. But, before you get jealous, just remember The Devil Wears Prada, was based on a true story.-2

This past summer I interned in New York City for Women’s Health Magazine, which is owned by the Hearst Corporation. Let me tell you, it was not easy landing an internship like this. It took months of me consistently emailing them until it got excessive and slightly embarrassing. Finally, they decided to throw me a bone and give me an interview. Despite my nerves, I was able to deliver a convincing performance to my future boss who gave me the job on the spot. I was ecstatic. Me, an inexperienced sophomore from South Florida was given the chance to work in a big city for a magazine as well known as Women’s Health. To be honest, I figured this internship was going to be a breeze, little did I know I was about to embark on the most trying experience of my life.

-1As magazine readers, we do not realize all of the work that it takes to create the content of simply one issue. Grueling work and countless hours go into making every aspect of the magazine’s issue pristine and ready for publication. My job was to assist in this process. Every day I would arrive to the Hearst building at exactly 8 a.m. on the dot and most of the time I would not be done until 8 p.m. that very same day. I worked in the fashion department of the magazine, so I spent the majority of my days inside the fashion closet. In there I would check in and out the hundreds of packages the magazine received and created, organized records of all merchandise to assist the fashion editor. Fortunately, my time at Women’s Health wasn’t all spent in the fashion closet. I got to assist the editors on a number of photo shoots for different spreads. This was a humbling way to see my hard work visually appear in the magazine.

Even though I worked long hours and felt physically and mentally exhausted by the end of the day, I wouldn’t take it back for anything. Those three months of hard work showed me what it takes to be in this industry and has made me even more motivated to work for a magazine and thrive in the business.

If I could give the readers one piece of advice, it would be to never lose sight of the dream. You must start off small to make it big and that was the main thing I learned this summer. We all have the potential to succeed; it just takes hard work, dedication and a crazy amount of passion for this industry.

