Internship Tips and Tricks from Rachel Osman

Hey, Edsters! My name is Rachel Osman and I am a junior at IU. I spent last summer as an intern at TWIST, a celebrity teen magazine. I met some wonderful people, got some great editorial experience, and learned more about One Direction than I ever thought was possible. Here are some of the best lessons I took away from my teen magazine internship:
IMG_0127

  1. Learn your magazine’s audience: Because TWIST readers are 9 to 15-year-old girls, I had to adapt my thinking and writing to relate to a younger audience than I was used to dealing with. I kept our audience in mind with every task I completed as an intern. This is SO important because without the readers, there would be no magazine.
  2. Make friends with the other interns: It’s no secret that the magazine industry is extremely competitive. Everyone is constantly competing for an internship, a job, etc. However, I think it is important to be nice to your fellow interns. You are all in the same boat, and it’s awesome to have people to relate to in the office. Positive intern relationships come with many perks. If you don’t know how to do something, you can ask the other interns for help before bothering your editor. I can’t tell you how many times my fellow interns at TWIST helped me throughout my internship. Also, if you’re friends with the other interns, they can become great contacts in the future because you are all going to be working in the same industry.
  3. Don’t dwell on mistakes: As an intern, you will probably make several mistakes. Nobody enjoys messing up, but when it happens, do whatever needs to be done to fix the problem and move on. Remember that you’re at the magazine as an intern to learn, and that nobody’s perfect. Instead of dwelling on a mistake, channel that energy into your next assignment.
  4. Work hard: This might be obvious, but hard work goes a long way. You’re at your internship to make your editor’s life easier, so do everything in your power to make that happen. Take on all of your assignments with a good attitude and do the very best job you can at all of them, big and small.
  5. Be thankful: Internships get stressful and overwhelming at times. However, always remind yourself to be thankful for the opportunity you’ve been given. If you get a magazine internship, there’s a ton of people who would love to be in your shoes, so always keep that in mind.

Hopefully some of these tips can you rock your next magazine internship! Good luck!

